Well, since we did German names for girl yesterday, the boys get their due now. Remember, we’re sticking to obvious German names that I felt like talking about (cause it’s my blog, nyah). Also, how do you like our new look? The header is subject to change, though, if I can find a shot of my own I like enough. Onto the boy’s list of good old German names! Away!

  • Adolph -Unusable but extremely handsome, don’t you think? I prefer the ph ending, as I usually do. Also, the meaning: noble wolf. Just a lovely names ruined for good. Isn’t it sad?
  • Alfred -I have a stuffed bunny named this; I got him when I was 2. That said it’s unusable for me; Alfred just is my beloved stuffed pet. That and an Alfredo sauce sort of kill usability for me. However, I think the name in and of itself is nice, although poorly situated with regard to trends; Al+Fred? no way.
  • Armin -If asked, I would have pegged Armin as an Indian name, but it’s a German one, through and through. It was probably an old form of Herman, or a shortening of Arminus. I like it; it’s got the 2 syllable -in thing that so hot right now and sounds vaguely exotic. It’s not for me, but may appeal to parents looking for a fresh but familiar option.
  • Aurel -ow-REL. I like it; it’s definitely different than anything else you’ll find around anymore. It’s a form of Aurelius, meaning “golden.” Around here you’d be more likely to get “are-rel” or something sounding like oral, but if you live in a place where this isn’t a problem, I say go for it! It’s absolutely lovely.
  • Etzel -Comes from adal, the same element that Adelaide does, meaning noble. I like the name in theory but Etzel the Pretzel gives me pause. It’s not horrible, but awfully obvious.
  • Ferdinand -Always seemed more Spanish to me, but I love it. I think it’s incredibly quirky, maybe to the point of being a little difficult to wear. Ferd the turd is also really unpleasant. As such, I love it in the middle, where it really spices up staid classics. James Ferdinand, Thomas Ferdinand, etc. Isn’t it great? It’s even got an explorer namesake in Ferdinand Magellan.
  • Franz -Ostensibly German. Franz is, indeed, one of the most German names I can think of, and I really like it. I toy with it to honor Kafka (although the surname Kafka itself is a major guilty pleasure…*blush*). I love his work. Anyway, I think Franz would work on a kid, although a baby Franz might be a little bizarre to behold.
  • Friedrich -Does Frederick strike anyone as German? I used this spelling here for authenticity’s sake, but I think that the Anglicised version is pretty German-feeling as well. I love the Frederick spelling and English pronunciation, although I like Friedrich as well.
  • Johann/Johannes -I absolutely adore Johann and Johannes. Seriously, I hope to use one of them on a future child, probably in the middle. I think they have the stability of a classic (John) without the dirt-commonness of it. I think it’s perfectly usable in the States, too; most people recognize it, I think. If not, a reminder or two will probably set them straight. Ach! I adore these names beyond all measure.
  • Kaspar -If we didn’t have that goddamn friendly ghost, I would love Kaspar. As it is, it’s sort of unusable in the front. I also like the spelling Caspar, but Kaspar does legitimately move you away from the ghost more. I wouldn’t recommend it, exactly, but it would tickle me to see one.
  • Klaus -Santa, sorry. I think it’s nice in the middle, though, and could work to honor a Nicholas (it’s a nickname for it in Germany, although I’m not sure on its stand-alone legitimacy). The plus side is that most people will recognize it’s a German name instead of just Santa.
  • Ludwig -Much nicer in the original pronunciation. I like it, although I wouldn’t say I love it; it’s interesting, though, you have to give it that!
  • Rupert -Twinkly. No really, that’s what I think. I really like Rupert, though, and it might be usable after the popularity of Harry Potter (one of them is a Rupert, right?). I think it’s sprightly and fresh. I would really compliment the parents of a little Rupert. It just seems like an extremely good natured name.
  • Sigmund -I like, but it’s too attached to Freud. I wouldn’t have too much of a problem with this but Freud was a bit of a misogynist, and more a controversial character than I’d like. Seriously, sharing your name with a guy who saw penises everywhere can’t be pleasant.
  • Ulrich -Power name extraordinaire. Ulrich sounds like a guy who could (and would!) kick your ass. It’s very heavy. I don’t like it as much as Ulrika, but it’s charming. I wouldn’t expect it on a non-German child, though.
  • Wilhelm -Seems like it’s trying too hard, unless you’re German. William is much easier. Also, Kaiser Wilhelm.
  • Wolfgang -Wolfgang is incredibly awesome. I wouldn’t tell anyone to use it in front, but as a middle it is really magnificent. Also, if your kid turns out to be the kind of guy who could pull of Wolfgang, he can go by it later on. It’s not a middle name I’d be embarrassed to tell anyone. Seriously, I’d sign my full name just to use it.

Like any? I’m more lukewarm on the boys than the girls, I find. What about you?

Also, Lola: I came across Till and Tillo in my travels. Perhaps a way to get Tilley without sounding too girly? Just a thought!