I know that many, many naming sites have exhaustive lists on how to honor a relative with an unsavory name, but I still thought it would be fun to do my own, considering I don’t always agree with their suggestions. You can always use the same first letter, of course, but if you’re more of a stickler for similarity (like me!), maybe you can find these lists of some help. I’m going to stick to different international forms of the name, but I might end up doing a “similar in sound” list later.

  • John: Johann, Ivan, Evan, Sean, Hamish, Ian, Jens
    • Jean, Jane, Giovanna, Joan, Joanna, Sinead, Siobhan
  • Richard: Ricardo
    • Ricarda
  • Anthony: Antony, Antonio, Antoine
    • Antonia, Antoinette, Antonina
  • Timothy: Timoteo, Timo
    • Timothea
  • Michael: Miguel, Mikhail, Miles, Milo
    • Michaela, Michelle, Michela
  • Robert: Roberto, Robin, Rupert
    • Robin
  • William: Wilhelm, Willem
    • Willa, Wilhelmina
  • David: Taavi
    • Davina
  • Thomas: Tavish, Tomas
    • Thomasina, Tamsin
  • Mark: Marcus, Marco, Marcello, Marcos, Marek
    • Marcella, Marcia
  • Charles: Carl, Carlo, Carlos
    • Charlotte, Carla, Carlotta, Caroline, Carolina
  • Stephen: Etienne, Stefan, Tahvo, Esteban
    • Stephanie, Estefania