Note: Alternative spellings, not kre8tiff ones. Well all know that each child is a precious snowflake, blah, blah blah. Don’t give them a horrendously spelled name; they don’t need it to be special! We’ll be dealing with more or less legitimate alternative spellings. Please, use them, not Kathyrynne. I’ve already talked about Catherine v Katherine and Elizabeth v Elisabeth; they’re in the archives somewhere.

The Battles

  • Claire v Clare: Clare by a long shot. It looks cleaner and doesn’t remind me of eclairs the way Claire does.
  • Eleanor v Elinor: Elinor. Again, it just looks cleaner and less cluttered. I really like Is, I think they look simple and tidy.
  • Gillian v Jillian: I waver. Some days I like Gillian and think Jillian looks dumbed down, other days I think Jillian must be closer to the original intent of the name as a feminization of Julian. I prefer Jill to Gill, but I still can’t make up my mind!
  • Margo v Margot: Lately I’ve been preferring Margo for being farther away from Maggot. However, I’m not sure how legit it is, and I sometimes think it looks dumbed down.
  • Susannah v Susanna: Depends on what I’m pairing it with. Susanna is sunnier, but Susannah is more dignified looking.
  • Nora v Norah: As a stand-alone name, Norah, as a nickname, Nora. I don’t know why.
  • Vivian v Vivien: Again, I waver. Sometimes I think Vivien is more feminine, and other times I think it’s masculine looking. No clear winner.
  • Alasdair v Alastair: Since neither is particularly intuitive for Americans, I’d be inclined to go with the original Alasdair.
  • Geoffrey v Jeffrey: Geoffrey, definitely. More timeless and less simplified looking.
  • Philip v Phillip: Philip. Cleaner and less heavy looking.

I know there’s a ton more I’m missing, but I just wanted to do a quick post. My old cold has morphed into what I think is a lovely sinus infection and I thought I’d do one today in case I feel like crap tomorrow. What alternative spellings do you prefer off of my list? Any of your own to add?

