I’m feeling quite a bit better. Cold had me knocked on my bum for a day or two, though.  Runny nose = DO NOT WANT. Thanks for the well wishes!

Since it’s Monday, it’s time for another synaesthesia post! Yay! I think today we’ll be seasonal and do red, especially since green was last week’s post. Of course, I don’t know how seasonal it is to people who don’t celebrate Christmas (I do, but in a secular “all about family and gifts” way). Actually, that’s an interesting point; are red and green seasonal to everyone? I don’t think they have anything to do with Jesus, right?

Anyway, I’ve read that for most synaesthetes, A names are red. Now, I have to agree with this generalization. A lot of A names are red to me, although not all A names are red and not all red names are As! I think this phenomenon has at least two explanations: One, A is often represented by a red apple in learn to read books, and two, red is a really powerful color, an alpha color, if you will. My red names, after the jump:

Girls

  • Josephine (regal maroon)
  • Joanna
  • Alice
  • Jemima
  • Frances (very earthy red, also sort of orangey)
  • Cordelia (partially red, also some yellow; hard to explain)
  • Adelaide
  • Roisin
  • Pomeline (sort of purple-red, although probably more purple)
  • Juniper (green, too)

Boys

  • Isaac (silvery as well, really bizarre)
  • Adam (same earthy red)
  • Alasdair (the t versions are brighter)
  • Rohan
  • Ferdinand (orangey)
  • Aidric
  • Jarvis
  • Rufus (duh)
  • Alexander
  • Frederick
  • Joseph
  • Laurence (not red, really, but a mahogany shade, with definite red undertones)
  • Victor
  • Vincent
  • Alaric
  • Adlai
  • Jasper

Unisex

  • Rowan

Looks like a lot of As and Js. I suppose those are my red letters, then, huh? I think Isaac is partially red because of the double A, and the I lends the silvery tone. It’s really pretty in my head. And a fun fact: I named my laptop Victor because it’s red and Victor is such a red name. It’s also nice because it’s a Vaio, so I get to keep the V theme.

So, what are your red names?

