I’ve been thinking about Corinne a lot lately. I love its bright, clear sound and sunny yellow feel. I’ve heard that it’s quite dated, but I’ve never met one in my life! I looked it up, and the graph is strange:

CorinneIt peaked in the 20s, in the late 200s. I mean, it was never so popular as to be dated a la Brenda, I think. I don’t know, Corinne just enchants me. It’s outside of my usual style but so interesting to me. I come back to it time and time again. I think it’s the crisp sound and no frills approach. I also love the Ns, I don’t know why. I just love the C and N together. Which is weird, since I hate Conor. … And, looking at the Behind the Name page, I realize why people think it’s dated and I don’t. I say kuh-rin, where it’s supposed to be kuh-reen! Well, even the most seasoned nerds make mistakes sometimes. What do you think about it? Kuh-rin vs kuh-reen I mean. Do you think the “rin” pronunciation is enforceable and acceptable? Do you think it’s nicer?

And Corinna. It’s got the same waffley pronunciation problems. I reject the English and accept the German Co-RI-na because the een sound is horribly unattractive to my ear and the name pronounced that way reminds me of careening, the verb. I think it’s feminine without frills and just gorgeous in a classical way. I can imagine anyone being a Corinna, from the girliest to the most tomboyish. Again, the ambiguous pronunciation throws me off, probably more so than it usually would because I’m not sure if my own is right or not. I think it’s all part of transliteration and Anglicisation, really; you can’t spell the name with a double n and expect an -een pronunciation. Argh!

I’ll leave you guys with my pronunciation woes. Corinne and Corinna; in or een? Is the former enforceable? Is the latter unavoidable? Is in so wrong that you roll your eyes? I just really dislike the eens here and I’ll have to drop these gorgeous names if I’m too far off base.

Talk to me about Corinne/Corinna!

