So I was recently asked by Lola why Daphne was not my #1, as I love it so much. I responded that my boyfriend doesn’t like it. Given that I do take his taste into account, I thought it might be interesting to give you guys a peek into his naming tastes and preferences. He’s not really into names at all; he just likes to humor me. Question and Answer format for the hell of it.

Q: If I had your behbeh right now, and had no naming input, what would be your top 5 for boys and girls?
A: For a girl I guess Fern, Iris, Bridget, Ivy, or Alice. For a boy Isaac, Alasdair, Ivan, Nikolai, and maybe Julius or Virgil.

Q: What is your favorite nickname for Margaret?
A: May, I think.

Q: What’s your favorite nickname for Elizabeth?
A: Eliza or Lily, perhaps.

Q: How would you describe your taste in names for girls and boys?
A: Well, I tend to like originals or classics. And we know I generally like botanical names. [He’s a biology major, if anyone didn’t know.]

Q: Would you prefer to use a name that’s unusual or common? Also, has the popularity of your name [Sean] ever bugged you?
A: Unusual I guess. The popularity of my name has bugged me a bit I guess; though there are a lot of Seans (or all its incarnations) out there I usually never had to deal with more than 1 other Sean so it wasn’t that big of a deal for me.

Q: How do you feel about honoring in names, like using names of family members or even literary characters that you admire?
A: Well I guess I would do it. How, I’m not sure.

Q: How do you feel about 2 middles?
A: I’d probably go with one. 2 middles feels like overcrowding, I don’t know. [We’ll see if I can’t change his mind on that! His sister has 2 middles, and one was tacked on for baptism purposes; he admitted that this colors his view a little, but also that he probably wouldn’t change his mind.]

At this point I let the poor guy go. Like I said, not a namenerd; he was just doing this to humor me. Just giving you guys a glance into my world of negotiation. :P I do make combos with him in mind, sometimes, so now you know what I’m working with!

