It’s no secret that I’m a big reader. I imagine that some of you reading my blog are too, so let’s talk literature, and the names in it.

As a dork, I am, of course, a huge JRR Tolkien fan. So is my boyfriend. When you add these together, you get someone seriously pondering Tolkien names, for better or for worse. We all know that Frodo is ill-advised, but what about these?

  • Peregrine
  • Melian
  • Miriel
  • Eowyn
  • Lorien
  • Luthien
  • Beren
  • Elanor

All would be perfectly usable, I think. Maybe a little weird, but overall fine. I personally wouldn’t use them in a first name spot, but I find them really lyrical, for the most part. I leave Arwen off the list because it seems to be the choice of people who’ve seen the movie and want something that sounds Welsh (it’s similar to the Welsh name Anwen). I am an unrepentant snob about these sorts of things. My personal favourite, Tinuviel, is also left off the list because I find it completely unusable, although the story of Beren and Tinuviel is beautiful. I make up for Tinuviel’s absence by adding Philomel; They share a meaning: nightingale, and my great grandmother’s name was Philomena. Any other Tolkien nerds out there? Share your favourites and go into nerd rage with me about the exaggerated role of Arwen in the movies!

Another one of my favourite books for names is Sense and Sensibility. I love both Elinor and Marianne, and their names. All the names are fairly classic, including:

  • Edward
  • Robert (such a scoundrel!)
  • Lucy
  • Eliza

Of course, that’s not the half of it, and not all these characters are people you’d want to name a child after! But there’s nothing wrong with taking a little inspiration from the classics.

The last book I’m going to name check (buh-dum-crash) here is Wesley Stace’s Misfortune. This is one of my favourite recent novels, and I’ll put a bit of a plug in here by saying I highly recommend it. It’s full of good names, too, such as:

  • Geoffroy
  • Dolores
  • Prudence
  • Edgar
  • Julius
  • Alice
  • Augustus
  • Edith
  • Camilla

Along with a few oddballs, including the main character, a biological boy named Rose. Other “different” names include Anonyma, Praisegod, Esmond, Lothar, Reliance and Edred. There’s a huge cast of characters and plenty of good names. My favourites are Prudence, Alice, Julius, Dolores, and Geoffroy (Geoffrey).

So guys, what are your favourite literary names?

